Need advice on best way to implement dynamic grid-based terrain

Hi,
I am an experienced java programmer and software developer although I have never created a video game using a gaming framework before.
I had a nice idea I wanted to work on in my spare time but before I get started I wanted to ask for opinions from more experienced users of JMonkeyEngine. So here it goes:

I wanted to create a 3D terrain consisting of many cells on a two-dimensional grid. Each cell has a height and a flat top. If two neighbouring cells have different height there is a completely vertical cliff connecting the two. It would look similar to classical isometric games like Final Fantasy Tactics or Tactics Ogre (see links below) but be in full 3D. The texturing and height of individual cells will change frequently during the game and needs to be updated in real time.

I am not exactly sure what the best way would be to create a world like this. My naive approach would be to create a custom mesh and specify all vertices and texture coordinates myself. I would tile the entire terrain into larger chunks, perhaps each chunk consisting of 128x128 cells. Would this be a good approach?

I was also thinking about having a water implementation where waves would be implemented as an animated mesh which is rising and falling continuously. Are there any implementations for something like already? What would be a good way to implement this myself, a custom mesh again?

Thank you for your help.

Example Final Fantasy Tactics:
Link: https://vignette1.wikia.nocookie.net/finalfantasy/images/a/a1/FFT_Battle.jpg

Example Tactics Ogre:

1 Like

The terrain sounds like any mine craft clone (except for the height of the blocks). So I’d venture to say you could search the forums for minecraft clones, in order to get started on the block framework. How you materialize the blocks is up to the shaders you choose.