Need Advice on Making an RPG!

Hey

I'm pretty new to jME tbh, and kinda new to java, although I understand the concept and have written quite a few non-game related programs.

I was thinking about writing an RPG in jME. I have Max 3ds 2009 and was wondering a few things …

1. How could I dynamically load a very large landscape?

2. Would it be possible to import different animations made in 3ds for different game states, for example I would make a knight running without a sword and if the player equipts a sword I would load a new animaion of the knight holding the sword. How else could I do that?

3. Would it be possible to create my entire landscape in max 3ds, and just load it bit by bit into the game?

I have this feeling that my ideas would make the game extremely slow.

I've also been testing out standard game, the idea of different game states is brilliant, I just don't really understand  how and when you need to use the openGL thread. I'm having trouble simply setting up a sky box with StandardGame as I'm unable to pre-load textures. Are there any futher tutorials on standard game I can read up on?

Or is it worth subclassing base game, as I find that MUCH easier to deal with, but impractical for larger games.

Are there any currently fully completed open source games written using jME? It would be really usful if somone could provide my an example of a finished game, preferrably using StandardGame ;), I've looked everywhere, but the best i can find is the flag rush tutorial.

Thanks!

there are tons of informations in the wiki, just use the wiki search, enter StandardGame or GameState and read through everything you find :slight_smile:

as for OpenSource projects:

http://www.jmonkeyengine.com/wiki/doku.php?id=sample_games_and_demos

Core-Dump said:

there are tons of informations in the wiki, just use the wiki search, enter StandardGame or GameState and read through everything you find :)

as for OpenSource projects: