New to 3D, Investigating jME

Hi, all.

I’m new to 3D development, but I have very solid knowledge and experience with Java. I’m beginning work on a side project – a 3D game engine (I won’t bore you with the details of why I’m doing that).

I started with Java3D, and think I have a VERY basic understanding of how it works. I’ve gotten far enough that I can randomly generate terrain and display it. While I think Java3D is a powerful tool, it, as I’m sure you know, has had very little support lately, is not designed for games, and seems to be generally slow.

What I’m ultimately after is a middle layer above OpenGL (something like Java3D, Xith3D, or jME) that I can use to develop the engine.

You guys are probably all biased toward jME, but maybe rightfully so – just from looking around for the past 45 minutes, I’m generally impressed with it myself.

However, I’m concerned about banking on an open source project that I probably won’t be able to contribute code to – I simply don’t have the knowledge, or the time to gain that knowledge and complete my own project. (Of course, J3D is going open source, but it’s already got a large foundation and a ‘Sun’ stamp on it.)

As I see it, realistically I have 3 options:

1. Stick with J3D since I already kind of understand what’s going on.
  2. Stick with J3D for now, and possibly port over to Xith3D later on (it’s similar enough that the port shouldn’t be too bad) for a speed improvement and other gaming features.
  3. Start right now with jME, and generally abandon the J3D knowledge I already have.

My general concerns with jME is a lack of documentation/books/tutorials, which I can get for the J3D/X3D side of things. I’m not complaining – I know it’s a ton of work. It’s just a fact about the way things are. (Incidentally, I may be able to contribute short tutorials or guides on specific things after I learn how they work, but I’m obviously nowhere near that now.)