New way to do JavaDoc?

What do you guys think of using something like this to replace the JavaDocs?

AsciiDoclet

I am new to github and AsciiDoc so I am not sure if this is possible but what I am thinking is since the wiki works so well on github where the wiki is immediately updated after the commit, this could be used to do the same for the JavaDocs. So everytime a file is changed on the jMonkey github repository the javadocs can be updated automatically.

Does this sound unreasonable?

1 Like

This is not the process that would trigger the generation, though, right? Itā€™s just a way of including AsciiDoc style markup in javadoc comments. (Which Iā€™m kind of against, by the way.)

ā€¦and if you are going to find some way to trigger javadoc to be run then it might as well also just commit them to the github pages as they are. I do this manually for several of my projects.

http://jmonkeyengine-contributions.github.io/Lemur/javadoc/Lemur/
http://jmonkeyengine-contributions.github.io/Lemur/javadoc/LemurProto/
http://jmonkeyengine-contributions.github.io/zay-es/javadoc/zay-es/
http://jmonkeyengine-contributions.github.io/zay-es/javadoc/Zay-ES-Net/

ā€¦since github can host the javadoc natively.

Weā€™d just need a process to run when things are committed. Or when we branchā€¦ I suppose we could have Travis upload the javadocs when we release just like we upload to bintray, etcā€¦ Maybe itā€™s already doing that and Iā€™m just oblivious.

1 Like

It would take a commit to generate and if thereafter a page is not touched nothing would change is how I see it. It would be a monumental task to convert all the files over though. Doing so would trigger the docs to update though. I wouldnā€™t use them as official until the complete conversion was finished.

What I am after is a way to always have a current javadoc so we can link to it from the wiki rather than linking to a raw java file in the jMonkey repository.