[Newcomer] CRAZY 3D concepts

Hey everybody,

I have been EXTREMELY impressed by what the jME engine can do and all the open source tools, tutorials, projects and random code that is floating around everywhere! Here is my situation though, I am a fairly new Java programmer while I have a firm grasp on programming in general, the OO programing really messes me up. I fully understand Java syntax but really what is bothering me is this. Conceptually with OO programing how would a player controlled character move about a flat map (for now) with all these classes and objects and whatnot? Now I know there are loads of tuts all over the place for this but I need someone to explain it to me… in English. I am really excited to start my own little 3D project I just need a firm grasp on how it all works, all help is GREATLY appreciated.

And if somebody out there has a kind enough maybe you could give me a few pointers on shooting a gun with that character by clicking(this would include making the game capture the cursor I presume) and then having collision detection for the bullet.

Thanks,

~Orannis

My suggestion to you would be to download JME and install it in your IDE of choice. After you've done that you will notice JME contains a test package with all kinds of small written tests including movement and firing an object. After you've checked it out just mess arround and see where you end up. Don't raise your goal bar to high, just try to do simple stuff and with time you'll understand it all :slight_smile:

The Flagrush tutorial is a little game that gets extended step by step, this and the Test* Classes in the jmetest package are probably your best start.

Better don't try to make a quake clone for a start :)  start with something easy.

Do you know a bit about OpenGL already?

jME does a really good job at hiding the OpenGL complexity from us, but you still need to know how things work internally or yo will struggle from one problem to the next.