.obj model is loaded, .mtl not

Hey

So I try to load a model in JME3 with assetManager.loadModel(“Models/tree.obj”);. There is also a tree.mtl file and all the textures are in the same folder “Models”. So the model is loaded but the textures are not assigned to the model.

Models

|- tree.obj

|- tree.mtl

|- bark.jpg

|- leaf.jpg

Spatial tree = assetManager.loadModel(“Models/tree.obj”);

Should I do something extra to assign the material?

Check the logs to see if there’s an attempt to load the material. The OBJ file must have a “mtllib” statement that specifies which material file it should use.

Problem is solved. I didn’t add a light to my world so the object was not shown.

Hey there,

I’m having the same problem as the OP. I’m pretty new to programming and Maya so I am simply trying to modify the Hello Materials tutorial to learn a bit. I can load in .obj just fine, but when running the program, only some of the faces show up (because they are facing the light source?).n the output window I get this:

May 10, 2011 3:06:41 PM com.jme3.material.MaterialDef

INFO: Loaded material definition: Phong Lighting

Unknown statement in MTL! Tf

May 10, 2011 3:06:41 PM com.jme3.asset.DesktopAssetManager loadAsset

WARNING: No loader registered for type .

May 10, 2011 3:06:41 PM com.jme3.asset.DesktopAssetManager loadAsset

WARNING: No loader registered for type .

May 10, 2011 3:06:41 PM com.jme3.scene.plugins.OBJLoader readFace

WARNING: Edge or polygon detected in OBJ. Ignored.

The .mtl file looks like this:

newmtl surfaceShader1SG

illum 4

Kd 0.00 0.00 0.00

Ka 0.00 0.00 0.00

Tf 1.00 1.00 1.00

map_Kd -s 0.125 0.125 plywoodface.jpg

Ni 1.00

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

~jester

ps.

when I run the program I also get this output printed like 20 times:

May 10, 2011 3:06:41 PM com.jme3.scene.Node attachChild

INFO: Child (null) attached to this node (Statistics View)

May 10, 2011 3:06:41 PM com.jme3.scene.Node attachChild