OSX Info.plist and configure JDK logging

I tried to help out with some testing of Makers Tale on Mac and have some problems configuring the logging. I’m pretty new to OSX and need to know if my expectations are wrong or if I’m doing something stupid.

So, I wanted to setup ALL-level on the JDK-logging. I found the logging-properties-file in

‘MakersTale.app/Contents/Resources/Java/logging.properties’ and changed that and ran the application.

No logs :frowning:

Instead tried running from a bash shell with ./JavaApplicationStub

Still no logs monkey sad

So I looked in the ‘MakersTale.app/Contents/Info.plist’ it says (among other things):

[xml]

<dict>

<key>VMOptions</key>

<string>-XX:MaxDirectMemorySize=1024m -Xmx512m -Djava.util.logging.config.file=“logging.properties” </string>

<key>WorkingDirectory</key>

<string>$APP_PACKAGE/Contents/Resources/Java</string>

<key>MainClass</key>

<string>com.afterhoursgamestudio.hex.Main</string>

<key>JVMVersion</key>

<string>1.5+</string>

<key>ClassPath</key>

<string>$JAVAROOT/MakersTale.jar</string>

<key>Properties</key>

<dict>

<key>apple.laf.useScreenMenuBar</key>

<string>true</string>

</dict>

</dict>

[/xml]

So in a bash-shell I went to ‘MakersTale.app/Contents/Resources/Java’ and issued:

java -XX:MaxDirectMemorySize=1024m -Xmx512m -Djava.util.logging.config.file=“logging.properties” -jar MakersTale.jar

Now I got all the logs I wanted.

So questions: Is this expected on OSX i.e. that logging is ignored? Or did I do something wrong?

The logging on OSX is global, open the “Console” app to see the log.

@normen said:
The logging on OSX is global, open the "Console" app to see the log.

Yeah, that was a nice app to search the log files and also helped me find them in the file system, OSX can be confusing :)