Overlapping textures in 2D

Hi toghether,

I’m new in using jmonkeyengine and all in all I’m also new with game development. But my entire life I wanted to implement a game, so I decided to start with a simple 2D Tile Map Game. All of that works very well with jMonkeyEngine (I knew, it’s developed for 3D games). But now I have an issue with textures/geometries (not) overlapping other textures/geometries.

The game is made similar to prison architect or rimworld. It has an x and a y coordinate. The z coordinate is just for scaling with the camera but for the other graphical components, it is never used. So when I have two overlapping textures of two different objects, sometimes the wrong texture/geometry overlaps the other texture/geometry. Is there any way to manage which texture/geometry is visible in front, especially when different nodes attach the textures/geometries?

Thank you very much,

Marco

The Z coordinate.

1 Like

Yes, but this is exactly what I don’t want to use, so let me ask again:
Is there any way to manage which texture/geometry is visible in front, especially when different nodes attach the textures/geometries, and the z coordinate should not be used?

You can manually do exactly what the Z is doing by adding your own custom geometry comparator… or you can use Z for what it’s supposed to be used for and do whatever else you are using Z for with what you’d use to keep track of layers.

2 Likes

If that’s what you’re getting then you don’t have something set up right for your 2D camera. You can probably just do it all in the guiNode which is 2D by default really.

And then what @pspeed said.

@pspeed thank you. I’ll try that or I’ll try a workaround with the z coordinate.