Parallel Projection

Hi everyone…

Is it possible in jME to use parallel projection?

It seems that the frustum can only be set to a rectangular based pyrimad, not a box shape. I’ve also tried the Ortho related methods, but no succes.

I’m not quite sure I understand the problem. There are two methods of rendering perspective and orthographic. Orthographic should give you the parallel projection you need. What is happening that is undesired when using orthographic?

I’m rather new to jME and OpenGL, so I’ll try and explain better what I’m trying to achieve:

What I want is to project my 3D scene in such a way that distance does not affect the size of the 3D object. It should however still affect the x,y,z coordinates. This way any lines that run parallel will also be projected parralel. In my highschool drawing classes this was called “parellel projection”.

In terms of games think of stuff like Simcity 2000:

I’ve gotten close to that effect by using a really low Fov for the camera, but there is still a big difference for objects really close and really far. A Fov of 0 of course did not work since then the frustum effectivly becomes a line. At least, I have not found a way to make it a “box” rather than a line or based on a pyramid.

Is there any way to do this using setOrtho()? I’m not sure what it does exactly… I see it uses the size of the screen. If that means it uses the quad of the screensize to calculate the frustum rather than the point in the middle of your screen that’d be great. But I’m really confused on how the camera works for objects rendered in Ortho mode. I’m lucky if anything show up at all, and when it does it usually looks really messed up.

Ortho is typically used when making 2D games or GUI’s. SimCity also uses it (or would at least have used it if the drawing was done through OpenGL :)).

What makes it look 3D is simply the way the images are painted, and a render que drawing buildings and the like in front of cars.