Planet shader and atmosphere scattering

Example code here.

Thought I’d show my work in progress. I am just beginning with GLSL and JME3 (and CG in general) so bear with me :).

This is a screenshot of my very first non-exploding version of a planet shader with atmosphere scattering and animated surface and clouds. It is encapsulated in a jme3 material. There are still some nasty artifacts but my intention is to share the code here when it is worth sharing ;). Procedural surface and clouds are the next step. I am not aiming for seamless landing planets, but for highly immersive planets from a low orbit view. My landings will be a loading screen.

The atmosphere scattering algorithm is based on Sean O’Neil’s work.

Average FPS is around 800.

Cheers.

7 Likes

Cool! Cant wait for the shader contribution :wink:

This looks great. And with such high FPS is very usable. Does the planet get "lighter" when you move away from it?

I could tell you’d have something good in store for us the moment you jumped out of your lurker-hole ;D

The border of the globe looks a little bit pixelated. Is that the model or the shader?

Edit: Oh hey, I just realized, you could make your screenshot look twice as awesome using the Space Skybox Tool (credit to Eggsworth for linking). (Erm, I haven’t actually checked how it works, but I figured you could just use the tool to generate a neat skybox and apply that to your scene)

(Split the thread out from the jME3 screenshots topic because that one is actually for core feature pics only. Maybe some other day, he he)

It's quite good. Create your sky, export it as 1024, import it in the ati skygen, attach it untill its right(1 to 1, 2 to 2, they use the same numbering) and export as dds.

Here a sample so you can test, just set it as texture for the skymaterial, while settings m_sphere (or similar) to false

http://ul.to/9cmjgp

Very good!

Thanks for the comments.