Presentation and new game

Hello everyone,

I am an experienced Java developer and I love this language. Like many developers, my main driving force is creating things. One of those things I had in mind for a long time was game development. My gateway to this fascinating world, which is unexpectedly very different from the classic development I was used to, has been JMonkey.

A little over a year ago, I started this journey, and JME3 has been my choice. I am very happy to have chosen it. Banging my head against the wall was less painful thanks to this small but enthusiastic community. Seriously, even though it’s small, it feels very active and makes the project truly feel alive.

During this time, I have learned a lot, and as always, there is still a long way to go. To learn how to use the engine and create my first game, I decided on a sort of space-themed city builder aimed at mobile devices. The project was very ambitious for my first game, but I must say that for someone with experience in Java, JME3 makes it really fun. I wanted to stay away from the popular Unity, which seems to do magical things, and sometimes I love reinventing the wheel.

JME is a comprehensive engine that gave me everything I needed. The game is made with JME 3.6.1, and I created the UI thanks to Lemur. I undertook the project with the goal of learning and proving to myself that I could create a game. It might be useful as an example of what can be done with JME, and although it’s in beta, it could be considered a finished and published game. In the version information section within the game, I took the liberty of displaying the JME logo (“Made with JMonkeyEngine”).

I now have other projects in mind, although I will surely try other open-source engines outside of Java to step out of my comfort zone.

I just wanted to introduce myself in this way and thank everyone for the work behind JME.

Edit:

Sorry! I forgot to post the link to the game:

15 Likes