Problem creating a Ray

I’m trying to make a ray upon the user left clicking. I’m using the code from the “Hello Pick” tutorials as a template to start from. Here is my code. Line 4 is where I hit my error and it crashes. I’m a newbie so you’ll have to bare with me.

[snippet id=“29”]

It sure helps if you tell the forum what the error actually is. It might be that “interactable” is null?

Good point, my bad. xD

Here is the error:

SEVERE: Uncaught exception thrown in Thread[LWJGL Renderer Thread,5,main]

java.lang.NullPointerException

[java]Main cc = new Main();[/java]

dont do that

@wezrule said:
[java]Main cc = new Main();[/java]

dont do that

Okay, what might be a right course of action? Just using "Ray ray = new Ray(cam.getLocation(), cam.getDirection());" was throwing the same error in the same spot. I thought it had something to do with the fact this code was outside my main class so that's why I made an object of my main class and called a camera from it. I'm just trying to put everything that handles my interactions in a different class form my main because my main class is already getting pretty clustered.

This is a java related error, i think you should learn all the programming constructs of java first. You need to either pass a reference of the SimpleApplication instance to your new class’ constructor or create a static variable referencing your SimpleApplication instance; there are also other ways as well

There are a number of posts similar to this around these forums

@wezrule said:
This is a java related error, i think you should learn all the programming constructs of java first. You need to either pass a reference of the SimpleApplication instance to your new class' constructor or create a static variable referencing your SimpleApplication instance; there are also other ways as well

There are a number of posts similar to this around these forums