Problem with trying to set Label text during runtime in nifty. [SOLVED]

Hello guys,

This is my first time trying out nifty and I’m very new to java in general so sorry for any confusion.

What I’m trying to do is to change the text of 2 label controls during runtime to represent a score and life value.

I have added the controls in the XML code I use and have ID on them which I call during runtime.

The code I’m using to change the label text is like this:

public void UpdateCurrentStats() {

Element lifeLabel = nifty.getCurrentScreen().findElementByName(“lifeLabel”);

Element scoreLabel = nifty.getCurrentScreen().findElementByName(“scoreLabel”);

lifeLabel.getRenderer(TextRenderer.class).setText("Remaining life: " + board.getPlayerBase().getHealth());

scoreLabel.getNiftyControl(Label.class).setText("Score: " + player.getCurrentScore());

}

You probably notice that I’m doing it different for the two labels that’s because I’ve been trying to solve my problems and tried both methods with no success.

At runtime no text is displayed at all. If I set a predefined text in the XML-code the text wont change during runtime.

If you are able to find out what I’m doing wrong I would be so thankful.

Best Regards.

Do you call this in the LWJGL thread?

Perhaps try a lifeLabel.getParent().layoutElements()?

Yes, I think I’m doing in the LWJGL thread. The method is called during gameUpdate and I’ve debugged to see that it does indeed call the method.

I have tried using the layoutElements() of the parent and parents but with no luck.

If the label is empty, does it have a size (width/height)?

Could you show your xml?

I have tried setting some different values inside the XML to see if that was an issue, but as I originally wrote, if I set a predefined text and use the method nothing happens and the same text is always shown.

The XML for the layer which includes the labels is like this: