Problems using the scene composer

Hello all!

I’m new to jME and therefore tried to start with a small example game where you shoot puppets with spheres. Unfortunately I did not come further than importing the models because I got so many errors when I was using the scene composer.

1. I couldn’t always edit the properties of the objects like local translation/rotation/scale or mass, gravtity or the position of a point light. I was able to get into the edit mode of the text field of the property, but however was unable to write anything, as if [jTextField].setEditable(false); was set.

2. This error dialog randomly appeared many times.

3. I added to both the models (structure & puppet) a collision shape. When I put them together into a scene and let the physics simulation run, they fell through each other and a NullPointerException was thrown. After that I had to restart the IDE since the scene composer can’t recover from that.

4. I linked the puppet 12 times into a scene with the structure and added some transformations to it. After saving and reloading, all the transformations were reset but the origin of the puppets was somehow at the point I had moved them before saving.

Is there a newer version of the IDE than jME 3 RC2 where at least some of these bugs are solved? Are you getting the same errors?

Thank you!
Cyrill

1 Like
  1. Some properties cannot be edited, like world translation etc.
  2. Surely not randomly but when you did something, what was it?
  3. Read up on how physics works, mesh vs mesh doesn’t collide
  4. Thats the point, you can only save the link node in that scene, the rest is saved in the model file
Some properties cannot be edited, like world translation etc.
Why can't I edit for example world translation although I can move the object with the move-tools.
Surely not randomly but when you did something, what was it?
I wasn't able to see a pattern but I'll investiate in it.
Read up on how physics works, mesh vs mesh doesn’t collide