Procedural terrain

I was asked to port here another topic about an infinite procedural terrain generator. I guess I have to explain it in a few words.

Motivation:

I’m just learning to use jME3, just found it a few weeks ago. I have a game idea in my mind and was happy that I don’t have to write everything from the bottom up, instead I can build on a stable engine, and take care of the main concepts. The first thing that was important for me, is to be able to generate terrain content on the fly, sometimes for different regions of the game, sometimes I need different terrain for different users, etc. I’m not as good in designing as in programming, also I do not have a designer yet, and my plans are that I will need so many terrains, that it’s not possible to be designed or even stored.

The solution:

So I found out about procedural terrain generation, which uses noise functions and fractals, that can be defined by a few parameters, and then asked for a value at a given point. There are some rules for these functions that make it reliable, such that it will always generate the same output for the same input. I already had some of these basis functions implemented - mainly ported from C examples - when I found jME. After looking around the tutorials and getting familiar with how to use it, I found the TerrainQuads which seemed to be the perfect spot to wire my functions in. But after playing a few days with it I had to face it, that the existing terrain implementation was optimized for pregenerated terrain data, which makes it possible to optimize the quality and speed when reading the data. This optimization I found too slow for realtime usage, so I created a small implementation based on the basic Geometry object. I designed to be as easy to be configured as possible, but it’s just the basics as far as I can see.

I have uploaded the code to my sourceforge svn and is available at: https://proceduralterra.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/proceduralterra