Project: Sound Engine

Hey,

I’m a student aiming for GSoC this year, and more importantly wanting to know how codes work in real world projects. I am interested in doing the sound engine part in Worth Noting this year. If time permits, I can do the Android Interface and Multitouch support also.

Since no Ideas are listed, I have this idea of adding functionality for sound recognition using google voice recognition to game engine. I can do that.

I am not familiar with the codebase.Can anyone tell me where and what to look for? Where can I get the mentor’s list respective to each part of game engine?

You can find general information including a link to the ideas page here:
http://hub.jmonkeyengine.org/soc/

Read the application guide to get an idea of where you should start to get a better understanding of the project and strengthen your application.

Google Voice recognition sounds like a fun idea, but to be honest it would be tough to get it accepted because:

• It’s specific to one platform only. (cross-platform compatibility is very important to us)
  • It’s a niche feature that only a small minority of games will use.

Thanks for getting in touch though! Interacting with the community is the most important thing :slight_smile:

Hey,

That’s sad to hear but okay, I just want to work for you guys :slight_smile:

I like to work on Steer AI port, I am pretty well versed in C++.
I can work with AI Algorithms also, but need a week or so before I start working(Agent Systems AI) . @sevarac

@savarac , @Momoko_Fan

I want to know if the idea has already been assigned, else I’ll start working

@Addiction said: I want to know if the idea has already been assigned, else I'll start working