Quaternion toAngleAxis always Positive?

Hi folks, total noob here, and I’m a bit confused why I can’t get a zero, or negative angle when calling:

float f = q.toAngleAxis(Vector3f.UNIT_Y);

(actually the first time I call the method I do get back an angle of 0, (i.e. the intial angle is zero).

i.e.Here is what I’m doing:

I have a node that I rotate upto 30 degrees, then I try to rotate it back to the original location (which was 0 at the start), but whenever I call the method…it never makes it back down to zero…The angle returned over time decreases to a minimum of about 0.02+, then it starts increasing again, causing the node to continue to rotate.

Obviously I’m missing something…any pointers/tips greatly appreciated.

well, I see calling q.toAngles(float[])

appears to return the angles with the appropriate sign, guess I can use that method instead :slight_smile:

You can’t get a negative angle. It’s always positive.

Remember that an angle can be from 0 to 359 degrees. Forward to side, to back, to other side then back to front.

@danomano said:

(actually the first time I call the method I do get back an angle of 0, (i.e. the intial angle is zero).

i.e.Here is what I’m doing:
I have a node that I rotate upto 30 degrees, then I try to rotate it back to the original location (which was 0 at the start), but whenever I call the method..it never makes it back down to zero..The angle returned over time decreases to a minimum of about 0.02+, then it starts increasing again, causing the node to continue to rotate.

Nice if it works now. That has 0.02 thing is a classic tho :). It happens when you keep adding to a float variable rather then setting it to a new value each time. At least that could be the issue here.

http://cboard.cprogramming.com/game-programming/79192-numerical-drift-quaternion-rotations.html

Well as it turns out using:

float[] angles = new float3[];

angles = q.toAngles(angles);