Random XML mesh generation

Hi all,

I’m fairly new to JME (I went through all of the beginner tutorials this past weekend) - but there’s nothing like trying to dive in at the deep-end! From what I’ve seen so far I’m very impressed and currently toying around with different ideas trying to make some cool stuff.

I’m currently experimenting with genetic algorithms and using JME to render the results.

Essentially I want to start with a population of, say, 100 randomly generated mesh XML objects. The idea being that in order to create these random meshes, you would be able to pass in some constraining parameters (e.g.: objects can have a maximum size of x, and no more than y faces, etc.) - currently I’m looking at writing some kind of XML generator class which outputs some Ogre XML defining a “random” object mesh - but this seems an incredibly manual process and with a lot of potential pit-falls, such as how would you ensure all defined faces in the submesh form a solid whole, etc. It just feels like the wrong approach as there would surely be a huge number of checks and validations I’d have to perform across the randomly generated values before I could say “Yep, that’s a valid object - now load and render it”.

I was hoping to see if anyone knows of an easier way to generate random valid object meshes, or can point me in the direction of a generally “better” approach. My idea is that eventually I will write a fitness function to judge the generated objects based on how they perform in the environment at a given task - enabling me to take the XML of the best solutions and combine parts of their XML strings to generate the next generation of meshes, etc.

Many thanks in advance!

what kind of meshes are you trying to make? random regular polygons? terrains? malformed blobs?