Releasing memory

Hi everybody

I'm new to JME. I've been looking at the API for some time, but there are still some thing, I don't really understand.

How do I release the allocated memory of a loaded mesh node or a terrain node with all their vertex and index buffers? Is it enough to remove the node instances from the scene graph and wait until garbage collection cleans it up?

garfield said:

Hi everybody

I'm new to JME. I've been looking at the API for some time, but there are still some thing, I don't really understand.
How do I release the allocated memory of a loaded mesh node or a terrain node with all their vertex and index buffers? Is it enough to remove the node instances from the scene graph and wait until garbage collection cleans it up?

Someone else here told me JME 2.0 is not very good for memory management. For example, in my case, I rescaled a model and the previous VBO wasn't garbage-collected. You have to call manually the methods to delete the useless contents.

For example, if you want to delete all textures of a TextureState, you can call the method clearAllTextures() or deleteAll() if you want to remove them from the graphics card too.
gouessej said:

garfield said:

Hi everybody

Someone else here told me JME 2.0 is not very good for memory management. For example, in my case, I rescaled a model and the previous VBO wasn't garbage-collected. You have to call manually the methods to delete the useless contents.

For example, if you want to delete all textures of a TextureState, you can call the method clearAllTextures() or deleteAll() if you want to remove them from the graphics card too.

or just set the values to null when ur done using them and call System.gc() before u initiate anything memory taxing
Bonechilla said:

or just set the values to null when ur done using them and call System.gc() before u initiate anything memory taxing