Rotate Cylinder to point to a vector3f

how do i rotate a cylinder to point to a vector3f() coordinate specific in jmonkey engine…

In very general terms, your cylinder is a node in the scene graph, and you can do Node.lookAt( … ).

The SDK tutorials, docs, and videos (start here) help alot in this type of situation - explaining parameters and their meanings, etc.

Good luck :slight_smile:

1 Like

Yep, also just to add that if its aligned vertically in model space and you want the top to point somewhere then you can also use spatial.rotateUpTo()

thx guys a lot. It Worked!. Just one more question: how do I alter a geometry center? because my cylinder is rotating in its middle and i wish it rotate its bottom. also in a way that after i alter it. if i move localTransition or move its still relative to its bottom. How do i do that? sry anything because i am new in jMonkey.

Perhaps this helps:
https://wiki.jmonkeyengine.org/legacy/doku.php/jme3:scenegraph_for_dummies

My ideia is: create 2 sphere then connect them using a cylinder and i need to do in way that i can alter it all time… because I’ll read new positions, move the spheres to its new positions and reconnect them with a cylinder. How do i do that?

I created both spheres + cylinder, but i dont know how to do a cylinder connecting them.

I guess you are Brazilian, so I’m going to talk to you in portuguese :slight_smile:

portuguese:
“Você quer criar um cilindro com 2 esferas nos pólos? Você precisa ter noções de vetores, quaternions, e scenegraph, então:”

https://wiki.jmonkeyengine.org/legacy/doku.php/jme3:math_for_dummies

e

@pspeed said: Perhaps this helps: https://wiki.jmonkeyengine.org/legacy/doku.php/jme3:scenegraph_for_dummies

Portuguese: