Rotation around the spatial’s center (SOLVED)

Hello there!

As a newbie I am working my way through the tutorials (jMonkeyEngine 3), but got stuck a bit. The “Hello Loop” tutorial tells me to rotate two cubes, so I thought about placing them side by side and rotating them in opposite directions. I placed them and used the method cube.rotate(…) to rotate them. I noticed that they rotate around the origin, but I want them to rotate around their own center. I searched and tested for a few hours now (including use of Quaternion multiplication and pivot nodes), but everything I tried resulted in either rotating around the origin or not rotating at all. I can’t believe that this issue has no easy realization - imho rotating around the own center is needed far more often than rotating around the global origin. That’s why I assume that I have some problem in core understanding how the differend coordinate systems are related/used.

Below is the “closest” result I got. I couldn’t find an easy way to set a rotation point, so I defined a Quaternium for general rotation around the y-axis and tried to use it locally on the cube.

[java]import com.jme3.app.SimpleApplication;

import com.jme3.material.Material;

import com.jme3.math.ColorRGBA;

import com.jme3.math.FastMath;

import com.jme3.math.Quaternion;

import com.jme3.math.Vector3f;

import com.jme3.scene.Geometry;

import com.jme3.scene.shape.Box;

public class TestTemplate2 extends SimpleApplication {

protected Geometry cube1;

protected Geometry cube2;

@Override

public void simpleInitApp() {

Box b = new Box(new Vector3f(1.5f, 1, 1), 1, 1, 1);

cube1 = new Geometry(“blue cube”, b);

Material mat = new Material(assetManager, “Common/MatDefs/Misc/SolidColor.j3md”);

mat.setColor(“m_Color”, ColorRGBA.Blue);

cube1.setMaterial(mat);

rootNode.attachChild(cube1);

Box b2 = new Box(new Vector3f(-1.5f, 1, 1), 1, 1, 1);

cube2 = new Geometry(“red cube”, b2);