(SOLVED) How to get started with AnimComposer?

Hi All,

Fresh noob here-I am struggling with wrapping my head around getting animations into jmonkey.

Main idea - Do I want one file or two and what file types should they be and what folders should they be in???

File types and context

My brother and I are using jMonkey and blender and also Mixamo.

I have been looking through the tutorials and I also have some cool (and old) books on j monkey that I have been working through. My book that I was working through starting talking about AnimControl which I see on the docs that that is ‘old’. We now have AnimComposer although the Hello Animation tutorial is still with the old system.

How to-Animate-Mixamo-Blender Models also points me to the Hello Animation and so then I went to the forums. I found an old post from may of '21 where they mention that the old animation system is deprecated and the new animation system documentation is still a WIP. After some more digging I was able to find some more recent stuff that was working such as Ali’s “A tip for animation blending!” thread. I then ran the TestAnimSerialization code on the Animation in jME3 doc and I did get the monkey in there pounding its chest … however I am still scratching my head.

Reading in my book animation at least conceptually made sense to me because you get a Jaime.mesh.xml and a Jamie.skeleton.xml. What are those in the new animation system?

I think the model loading is just (“Models/Jaime/Jaime.j30”) but what is the equivalent of the skeleton?

This from the doc “A model should get an AnimComposer automatically when you convert your model to j3o. At the same time animations will be created and accessible in the AnimComposer. Animations will be named the same they were in your editor. “