[SOLVED] Rounding floats

Hello to all jmonkey users,
I have one question for you. Is there a way to round float numbers?
My problem is: Money which I have in game is float value and it’s showing numbers on hundredth (for dummies like me: it’s looking like 5.40). And now if I add 20 cents (0.20f) to wallet, value goes 5.60004. This is what nobody wants. I just want only hundredths, not more zeros.
Code that causes it:

money += 0.2f;

Thank for any advices.

If your currency has atomic values (like everything can be expressed as multiple of 1 Cent, use an Integer and divide by 100.

You can round Floats to n Decimals by using round and some multiplication though, just google for that

1 Like

This is Java after all, so there are approximately 2,000 ways to do that.
You could do:

String.format("%.2f", money);

Option 2:

(double)Math.round(money * 100d) / 100d

Option 3:

DecimalFormat d = new DecimalFormat("#.##");
d.format((double)money)

I’m no java expert, so I don’t know which one is best, or which one is fastest. I’d recommend testing a couple thousand runs of each to test for speed.

However, the reason you are seeing the extra 0.00004 in the float, is due to floating point precision. You will see this come up in all forms of computer stuff and if you don’t know whats going on, it’s going to be pretty confusing. If you want precision, it may be better to use java’s BigDecimal instead.

3 Likes

Java cant do arithmetic of doubles or floats accurately.
Add ten pennies (.01) together and see what you get.

Use BigDecimal and strings or the easy way and do what Darkchaos said.

Edit: changed the improper use of the word add to arithmetic to clarify.

What @Darkchaos said is usually the best option. Using a long or simmilar with 100x multiplier and format when needed to output with DecimalFormat.

Here’s what I use (well, approximatelly) to format my bank account label so it keeps the zero places behind the dot at all times as well: