[solved + solution] jMonkey destroyed my Alt Gr key :(

So I have this problem for some time now when somehow the Alt Gr key doesn’t work anymore in jMonkey.
That means that I couldn’t type { properly but had to press Ctrl and Alt at the same time plus the number 7 … really awkward.
Today I noticed that even after closing jME, the key still doesn’t work :S .
Everytime I press the key it reacts like I pressed the Alt key alone.

I use a german keyboard if that helps.

Please help me :frowning: .

I am brand new to jME3, so by all means take my advice with a grain of salt (!), but I find it really hard to believe that a Java app would/could permanently disabled a keyboard key after the app terminates.

Are you:

(1) 100% sure that the app has terminated and is not still somehow running as a server/daemon?; and
(2) 100% sure that it’s not just a coincidental hardware failure? Can you swap out the keyboard for a new one, run your app and reproduce the problem on another keyboard?

1 Like

(1) It was completely terminated
(2) Yes because I just restarted my computer and it works again now

The thing is that happened before and it doubt that it won’t come anymore in the future.
I just don’t want to restart my PC everytime and I think it happened to other people as well but they haven’t found a solution either so I made this thread.

Can you reproduce on another keyboard, or reinstall the device driver for your current keyboard?

Ultimately, in a perfect world, you’ll be able to reproduce by:

1. Starting with a brand “new” keyboard (either an entirely new keyboard, or a fresh driver for it); at the very least your Alt Gr key should be working when you start the test.

2. Run your jME3 app in debug mode.

3. Step through the code, checking the Alt Gr key each time you step.

4. As soon as Alt Gr stops working, you should have arrived at the location of the code that is “killing” the key.

5. Post your results! Perhaps it is a bug afterall, but again, I seriously doubt it.