[SOLVED] Texture looks blurry

Hello all,

I’am new in JME :). I am using the JME to develop a game for my final project. My game is a kind of driving simulation.

I made the scene using blender, export it as OGRE scene, then load it.

The problem is the texture of the road markings in front of the car looks blur. I think it doesn’t matter if the blur occurs far in front of the car.

QUESTION: What causes the road markings’ textures look blurry? Is there a way so that the texture of the road markings do not look blurry? Screenshoot:

Thank you very much for your attention.

Sorry for my poor english. :wink: I’m still learning

Normally blured textures in the distance is an artifact of mipmaping. This is a technique which reduces flickering and alias problem in 3D rendering.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mipmap

I don’t think you want to turn of mipmaps (trilinear filtering) but you can change the MinificationFilter on Textures in code. But I’m not sure if this is the cause of your problems.

1 Like

Try higher res textures…

@kwando: thank you very much :D, seems like mipmaps was the cause. I have tried BilinearNoMipMaps MinFilter and textures appear as good as i want. I also tried NearestNoMipMaps and seems like the result is the same as BilinearNoMipMaps.

QUESTION: Do the BilinearNoMipMaps and NearestNoMipMaps have a different performance? Because I can’t see any difference in my game’s fps and i have no knowledge in texture filtering. My game still run smoothly at 80-100fps.

@zarch: i already use high res texture 8).

@generalkyu np.

Modern GPU:s are good at texture filtering, that’s not the first thing to worry about :slight_smile:

I think not using mipmaps could increase the memory bandwidtdh (memory bandwidth is precious) and be worse for the cache, but this is just me guessing.

Best thing is to measure :slight_smile:

@kwando: thank you for quick reply :). Now i can continue my project. Still lots of work to be done.