Sorry, but I don't get it

Hi guys! I am new here, so first of all: hello! :slight_smile:

I am planning to make multiplayer game to play from the browser. I must confess I am fairly new to the “engine” world, I always coded my games from scratch.

I played around for one day with the free version of Unity and I was amazed by the simplicity of its editor and how easy it is to integrate your code/scripts into the game. So I decided to give a shot at some engine for my “new little game”.

I searched for alternatives to Unity (my budget is too low and I can’t stand the lack of shadowing…), I found jmonkeyengine and I was quite impressed by what you could achieve with it!

I would like to use jme3 but here are my problems/questions:

1. Lack of tutorials! It’s impossible to understand where to start!
  2. The few tutorials that are available, for instance the “Hello series”, are programmers-only. I am a programmer but I want to discover the editor’s power otherwise I would just code in XNA.
  3. The editor doesn’t work as expected I am afraid… An example? The “Hello Terrain tutorial”. Why should I code stuff that is readily available from the editor? Although… I can’t get the terrain to work from the editor! I go to my scene, click on edit terrain, place some random terrain in there, save the project and the next time I open the scene the terrain disappeared again! Maybe I am doing something wrong, but what should I do to learn doing things from the editor first, then code on the top of them?
  4. Lack of “basic” things such as: insert cube, insert sphere. Do I really have to create my own shapes in Blender to just put some placeholders? Not a big deal of course, but it would be nice not to have to :slight_smile:

Of course I totally understand it’s just an Alpha and the engine IS amazing, I am very happy about this piece of software and I totally support it! I just hope I will solve my issues to make it my choice.

Thanks guys if you are going to help!