Spatial Light Shading

Hello

First i wanted to say that i just started with jME but i really like the way things are handled. Finally an object oriented way of doing 3d with style!

Now as impressed i am i already have a problem :slight_smile: In the case someone else might already have answered that and i just didn't find it - sorry i'm a 3d noob and have really no clue what is wrong (also i searched already).

My Problem is that light that falls onto a spatial (i loaded from a blender exporeted .obj. also tried .3ds - no dif) seems to have way too much contrast. Its either really bright or dark. When it rotates it switches from dark to bright without gray scale. While the other object (a Sphere created with jme sphere) is rendered completly normal including texture mapping. I set the material (setRenderState) to both objects exactly the same. They are on the same node which is rotating.

I really could need some help here.

Thanks in advance!

regards,

s42

PS:

I work on Mac OSX Snowleopard JME 2 from CVS checked out today.

Please tell me if my question is really stupid or for what i should search for if this is a already answered question. I already read all the docs about light i could find, but still i might not really get how jme does shading. I guessed that it is something simple because i just tried to load a basic model into an empty space with one light. If it is too difficult to tell without code please let me know. I would also appreciate a link to a simple example of loading a blender object into jme with one light or some sort of realistic shading at least. It's kinda urgent for me  :smiley:

Looks like the model exported is missing both correct normals and UV (if the blue thing is a texture).

Check the model in Blender to make sure those things are fine.