Swing and jME

Good day,

(note: this may be a stupid question)

I have no real experience in GUI creation.  But since jME has no GUI package, I was wondering if it would be possible to integrate Swing and JME in a common console?

Else, should I consider NUI or BUI since none is officially part of jME?

Looks like everybody hates GUIs…

Humm…

My test:

• I want to have a panel that I can scroll (up and down). In that panel, I want to add items dynamically (sort of a List). 
  • Each item is composed of a name, a picture, and an editable box.

Ideally I would like to be able to pick one item and mive it up/down in the list.

Any suggestions?

I looked at the BUI, there are some classes there that would allow creation of a panel with scrolling, however it is in the jmex package.  Does it mean anything?  Is samskivert still around?

Any reasons why I get no answer?

Are there any plans to integrate SWING in jME? 

Is it possible ?

Any plans for GUIs?

You can already do Swing with jME (see jmetest.util.JMESwingTest for an example).

All UI code is being removed from the baseline currently both widget and ui. What's there is old and stagnant. BUI/NUI is more likely what you'll want.

I will look at that example.

The only thing I found so far was the Particle generator example that used SWING but displayed the output in two different consoles (one for SWING components, and one for the scenegraph). 

That's actually being revamped due to the ui removals mentioned above

Just tried the JMESwingTest, this is great!!

Thanks.

Good, glad to hear it. Make sure you let us know of any bugs, improvements etc. You are the first that's going to make extensive use of it… the guinea pig. :slight_smile:

BTW: Is there a way to hide the canvas until a certain point like until all models are loaded, etc. ?