Train simulator (renamed from Starter's questions)

Hello!

I'm new to JME. I have successfully read Starter'sGuide and reviewed all the examples and test classes in jmetest:)

And my desire is to write a train (subway/even maybe tram)…in few words, a rail transport simulator.

I understand that it is a great task and i should move from simple things to hard, so i will post questions concerning my railsim in this thread one by one…

The first one:)

As far as i understood, first of all i should create different gamestates, for example, GameLoadingScreen, MainMenu, InGame.

Lets leave all the gui, i add only text buttons in the menus…

So the question is: how to organize scenegraph? It should provide good performance (one route may vary to 200 miles square or even more, so it should be loaded as needed).

I think that there would be such groups of objects:

Terrain

RailSystem consisted of tracks pieces

RollingStock -> Trains consisted of locos and cars

StaticObjects such as trees, houses, etc.

DynamicObjects such as signals that should be always loaded. Not geometry, but as "context object" - i mean that sygnal should be initialized once at the time of route initializing, but not as it becomes visible to camera.

Also it would be a multiplayer game (i believe:)), so as far as understand, some machine acting as a server should keep all the logic and calculate physics and other participants should act only as "renderers".

Please clarify me these moments and give maybe some likns to read about all this questions.

Thank you!

In my opinion you should neither worry about scalability (e.g. "loading when it's needed") nor about game states when you start your first project with jME. Further on you should not start with making multiplayer things.

Start off by creating some dummy train (e.g. out of boxes) and let them follow some path…  you will get a feeling for the scenegraph stuff, quickly.  :slight_smile: