UnsatisfiedLinkError <---------------Ummm, what the heck?

Hello Game development pros. I recently discovered jmonkeyengine and decided to set it up. when I was done, to test it I decided to run the HelloWorld program provided in the tutorials.

However, when I run it I get this weird error I’ve never seen before:

Info about me: I have a bit experience in networking with java and web servlets and have made a few 2d games (the point is i’m not a total noob to everything).

I use netbeans for my work, and I’m trying to get it to work with JME.

Yes, I have tried searching the forums but nothing has been helpful.

Golden brownies to the fellas that help me! XD

you need to tell java where to look for the native lwjgl library (lwjgl.dll for example).

On the command shell its: -Djava.library.path=.lib/lwjgl/native/win32

you need to add this somehow to the project options in netbeans

hmm does anyone know how to do that?

Would lwjgl be something that is seperate from jmonkeyengine?

here is the set up guide from the wiki.

http://www.jmonkeyengine.com/wiki/doku.php?id=setting_up_netbeans_6.1_for_jme_2.0

If you still have trouble you can try the way lwjgl is solved in Maven Setup Guide:

http://www.jmonkeyengine.com/wiki/doku.php?id=jme_maven_setup#lwjgl_native_libraries

Or just use the whole guide… or ask again for help.

Similar Topic (same):

http://www.jmonkeyengine.com/jmeforum/index.php?topic=10068.0

That might be true but having the newest version of lwjgl on your jre would make it break backwards compatibility? If the newest version works where an old one is expected I don't see the problem.

IMO native files should be inside the jar file with the rest of the lwjgl files and avoid the problem altogether, I have seen it done with some libs that depend on dlls or native files just like lwjgl does.