Using lights from Blender in a scene for JME

Hello,

I’m fairly new to JME and I was wondering if I was able to setup all of the lights for the scene in Blender then import it into JME (Not using the JMonkeyPlatform) and have the lights from blender show up in the scene. If I can do such thing how would I do it?

My first attempt was to just try importing the .blend native but I couldnt get that to work. I’m assuming that you have to use .obj for models/scenes.

Thanks in advanced!

Afaik the .blend loader is actually the only way to import lights from blender. I don’t think the other pipelines supports it.
However not all lights from blender can be imported, I think Sun will map to a point light, spot light to spot light…I think the hemi light is skipped…

Do you have some error?

I didnt get any error, the model was just overwhelming bright and when you attach a texture to it in blender and import it in JME its dark as can be.

Also how do you do the blender loader? It seems that the updating of the site made it very hard to find the documentation of the BlenderLoader.

Hi,
Lights are attached to a node and they only enlight children node of this node.
So if you load the scene, attach it to root, and then attach your model to root. Then it won’t receive light from scene.
Often I post-load the scene, and attach its light to root.

To use the blender loader at runtime (bad practice) you should include the jme-plugins as dependency (iirc).

PS: I’m working on an other pipeline jme-blender (mainly to import my scene) take a look at [devlog] jme3 as blender renderer - #10 by nehon . And ask me if you want to give it a try.

I’ll give it a try and possibly take a look at the me-blender.

Thanks!

Hey @FallenYouth

can you post me the link to your model here ?
I will take a look at it.
But as @nehon mentioned it - not all ligth types are supported by jme so they might not be properly loaded.