Using TouchInput tutorial?

Hello!

Not sure what forum to place this topic in, but looks like the Android would be the best one.

I want to use JME3 to create an application, controlled by TUIO touches and gestures on a touchtable or a desktop with a touch patch. However, I cannot find any tutorial on how to begin using this kind of input in JME3. There are people on this forum who seem to successfully implement this on desktop but I do not know how they do it. I am fimiliar with all the TUIO technology and have been doing such applications using other platforms, now I want to use JME3 but can’t find the info. Could someone please point me to a tutorial or describe some basics? I just need the direction to go.

Nobody can say anything on that? I just don’t believe that!

So far in android (on the nifty gui side anyway which is where I’ve tested) I just get touch events as mouse clicks…other than that I can’t really help you sorry…but I am a newbie myself :slight_smile:

Yep, but there are also the two-finger gestures… and multiple fingers tracking… Maybe I should ask on the general forum since some people may not be visiting the Android branch of the forum.

mhhh… I was going to RTFM you but I realize there are no tutorials about this…neither there are examples in the test repo…

so here it is, i’ll make a proper wiki page later

TouchInput does not work exactly like the rest of the inputs in JME, that’s a flaw of the original design and it might change after the 3.0 release.

first you have to register the type of event you want to recieve with the inputManager. Basically you have to register all of them :

[java]

inputManager.addMapping(“tap”, new TouchTrigger(TouchInput.ALL));

[/java]

then you have to check for that event in the onTouch :

[java]

inputManager.addListener(new TouchListener() {

public void onTouch(String name, TouchEvent event, float tpf) {

if (event.getType() == TouchEvent.Type.TAP) {

//do TAP stuff

}