Vector operations without creation of new objects

Hi,

I’m just starting to learn jMonkey, I’m trying to simulate dynamics of particles by simple integration of Newton equations

v += (F/m).dt

r += v.dt

… where v,r,F are vectors

if I use Vector3f class math, is it possible to do such operations without creation of temporary vector objects? Because I guess allocation of new object take time and can cause insufficient memory overflow.

I tried to use scaleAdd(float scalar, Vector3f add), however it looks like that

v.scaleAdd(dt/m, F)

does

v = v*(dt/m) + F

rather than

v = v + F*(dt/m)

There are local version of most (if not all) vector methods that store the result in the vector itself, e.g. Vector3f.addLocal(Vector3f) rather than Vector3f.add(Vector3f).

Vector3f.scaleAdd(float, Vector3f), however, is local already.

To do the calculation v = v + F*(dt/m), where v and F are vectors and (dt/m) is a scalar, you could do v.addLocal(F.multLocal(dt/m)).

Yes, I know about “local” versions of functions (I read the javadoc of Vectror3f class)

v.addLocal(F.multLocal(dt/m));

ok, the trouble is that I want conserve vector F for other computations.

also when I do

r += v.dt

I can’t use

r.addLocal(v.multLocal( dt ));

because I need to conserve v for the next iteration of the dynamics.

sure it would be possible something like this

r.addLocal(v.multLocal( dt )); // first multiply

v.multLocal( 1.0/dt )); // divide after

but it’s not very nice solution

I know, this is not really serious troubleshooting, I just ask how it’s supposed to do the most elegant way (most efficient end numerically precise, and to keep code readable).

you can use TempVars.

It’s a JME Util class that reuse the variables.

usage is

[java]

TempVars vars = TempVars.get();

Vector3f v = vars.vect1;

do your stuff;

vars.release(); //don’t forget to release the vars

[/java]