What level of knowledge do i need to make a bloxel engine?

I am fairly new to jme and i have always wanted to make a minecraft like game just for fun. What level of knowledge(jme knowlege, java etx…) do i need to make a voxel engine with jme. And should i use a already built voxel engine and if so what engines should i use?

Well you could start off by going through the JME tutorials, all in java if you already know java. Then depending on what you want to do, there is an existing cubes framework that gives the bloxel engine look to JME, though for some odd reason I can’t find the url link. But if you want to go about implementing it yourself there some tutorials out there that can provide a good insight in how to make a bloxel engine, here is the link for a tutorial I followed a while back to create a bloxel prototype:

Even though the tutorial is in Unity, the concepts and the general outline of the code should be the same. There may be other algorithms that you may need to know such as greedy meshing, as shown in this video:

There is a link to some JME code that does greedy meshing in the video description. Also as a side-note, the JME documentation is very helpful, so have that open at all times when your doing JME development.
May seem like a wall of text I sent you, but I think everything I listed should be enough to get you started on creating your own bloxel engine.

Note: if game development were swimming then making a block game right from the start is like learning to swim in the deep shark-infested end of the pool. Just because the graphics are “simpler” looking doesn’t make the engine easier. In fact, they are one of the harder types of games to make because of the flexibility and having to do nearly everything from scratch.

Versus something like an FPS where you create a level, create some models, load it up, and go.

1 Like

Warning: TLDR;