What's happening with MonkeyBrains?

I’ve made some commits to MonkeyBrains: moved some stuff on a different package (monkeystuff) and stripped some functionality from the Agents.

The old functionality is preserved on the new BluePillAgents. I’ve named them this way because I think it conveys my intention: the “blue pill” is the usual way, they are well documented on the wiki and they should work with the current examples.

Since there is a “blue pill”, there is going to be also a “red pill” that is going to be a bit different. I’m not an expert in AI, I’m just wanting to adventure in this aspect :wink:

The “red pill” will be built around the needs of my game, so yes, I will actually eat my own dog food (monkey food?).

1 Like

So what are your personal goals for the library? What will you make it do that it wasn’t doing as well as you’d like?

While we’re going down this trail, @Tihomir and @Pesegato, do you think (the key parts of) MonkeyBrains could feasibly be merged into gdx-ai?

It’s got some small LibGDX dependencies, but there might be some changes coming:

Something to consider for the long-term.

Will post an update within a few days :wink:

“Merged” as in “one lib to rule them all”? :smile:

Don’t really know at the moment. I don’t suffer of NIH syndrome, so for me it’s ok to eventually drop a library that is “inferior”.

However, thanks for the heads up! I think that gdx-ai has some niceties that would benefit monkeybrains.

Hi,

@erlend_sh
Regards libgdx-ai migration… Such idea is quite attractive at first but i think libgdx-ai library also quite wraped around 2d and the “actor” model - core concept of libgdx .

I also write a few games with libgdx using steering and fsm module. They’re well written, however it’s quite basic to make use in bigger game such as a 3d rpg for example.

@Pesegato: