Where did all these assets come from…? [Solved]

I was looking at some of the community developed games (ships with cannons, mythruna, etc.) and being amazed, not only at the awesomeness of the games but also at the awesomeness of the assets that are used models, textures,etc. My question is what is the best way to get assets for your game?

I am no artist and when I first launched blender I nearly fell off my chair at the sheer complexity of the software. Now don’t get me wrong, I would love to learn but I’m on a budget and can’t afford 3-5 textbooks on all the ins and outs of blender. Ideally I’d like to find some tutorials online, so naturally I went looking on youtube but the tutorials that I found there are extremely hard to follow. I also looked into software like MakeHuman which is great but as we all know human characters are not everything we need in a game (In some cases human characters are not used at all).

Finally, I am wondering if buying models is a good idea. What do you guys think?

To sum everything up:

Is buying models a good idea?

Do you know of any good online tutorials for blender?

Do you know of any site that offers free models/textures?

What is the best way of acquiring textures?

Thanks in advance! :smiley:

• I get a lot of my textures from cgtextures, and then modify them to meet my needs.
  • I learn’t a lot of my blender knowledge following, this 10 hour tutorial series, on making a dragon.

http://cgcookie.com/blender/2010/06/17/series-stylized-dragon-part-1/. Teaches you pretty much everything, modelling, bit on texturing (not too much), animation.
  • Never bought a model so can’t comment.

As with anything you find make sure to read the license.
  • Textures best to take ready, as wezrule said.
  • blender is easy, just 1-2 months of learning(skeleton, animations, modeling, texturing)
  • i creating models myself(first looking ugly but in some time it look better and better)