Where to put data files

Ok, I figure I'll just put the rather basic question up front:

How do I access an external file?  I'm wondering where exactly to put the file, if I need to adjust anything in my IDE, and what to type in my code.

Now to give a little background on why I'm asking this:

I'm pretty new to jME (actually, to Java in general) although not to 3D game programming (ie. I've written games in the past in other development tools.)  I've started going through the beginner tutorials on the wiki and have gotten through the first few with little problem, but I'm stumped on the one for model loading:

(http://www.jmonkeyengine.com/wiki/doku.php?id=starter:hello_modelloading)

In the midst of the code it has

// Point to a URL of my model

URL model = HelloModelLoading.class.getClassLoader().getResource("jmetest/data/model/maggie.obj");

I believe that to be my problem right there.  I just get an IO error when I run this code, so I'm assuming that file path/name is not actually accessing the file.  Similarly, changing it to "data/test.obj" with my model in a folder called "data" in the project directory doesn't work, even though "data/test.jpg" did work in a previous tutorial for loading a texture.

Meanwhile, while searching for more information I found this page:

http://www.jmonkeyengine.com/wiki/doku.php?id=model_loading

This comment in the midst of the code points to what I need to do, but I don't understand what it means:

// File Path for the model (dump file in toplevel of classpath)

URL url = MyClass.class.getClassLoader().getResource("head.md3");