Wireframe rendering for GLES

Hi guys

I’ve just implemented a simple project including a geometry shader based wireframe rendering material for GLES (it also works also on desktop GL):

I came across with the idea of trying to implement it after reading that physics debug meshes were rendered solid here

@sgold if you think it’s good enough to have it integrated in jme3 core to fix the debug shapes issue, tell me.

If there’s anyone needing something similar, just feel free to use it

EDIT:

I forgot to mention that this should work properly with instancing, skinning and morphing. If there’s anyone using any of those jme3 functionalities wanting to test it and give me feedback is much appreciated :wink:

Screen capture running on my phone:

EDIT: rework the post to reflect the current repositories properly

6 Likes

I’m not an Android developer, so I don’t feel qualified to judge your contribution.

1 Like

OpenGL has a default wireframe mode, OpenGLES does not have a wireframe mode (POLYGONMODE), so this needs to be implemented with GLSL. :male_detective:

Yes, that’s the point here, the material I posted in the linked github project implements it using geometry shaders :wink:

Obviiously it’s mostly useless for desktop but if you want to use the exact same code in all your binaries either using openGL or openGLES, instead of having to check when to use one material (or flag) or the other, you can directly use this one

3 Likes

Well, I got some more spare time and I implemented also the barycentric coordinate approach for wireframe rendering, so, if using this technique instead, you can have wireframe on any openGLES release

It’s all detailed in the readme but… from left to right: Geometry shader approach, jME3 default wireframe mode (will render solid on android) and Barycentric coordinates approach:

Desktop

Android

5 Likes

looks more “chaotic”. but works on mobile.