World of Warcraft Model Viewer

So I've started working on a model viewer for viewing WoW Models (from M2 files).  Several caveats here.  First, I'm fairly new at 3D modeling, and very new at using jMonkeyEngine.  Second, this project is very new.  I've done as good as I can to get it to where I'm at now, but don't expect much.  I've posted the project on Google Code here:

http://code.google.com/p/jwowmodelview

So why did I do this?  Well, contrary to what some might say, I didn't do it to use Blizzard's models in some project I'm doing.  I did it for several reasons, not the least being trying to understand how a successful company implements their models inside of a graphics engine.  As I mentioned above, I'm quite new to 3D graphics although I am an extremely seasoned Java engineer.

"Most" of the code is mine and mine alone, though I've borrowed some code pertaining to decoding the BLP files.  I've reworked most of it to be better documented, and have chosen to make it more readable as opposed to making it more efficient.  I figure efficiency can come later.

So with that out of the way, I've reached a point where I'm banging my head against the wall.  My test application that I've written loads a model successfully, creates the bone structure, attaches it and transforms the model according to the animation.  I've made the + and - keys tied to moving forward in the animation or moving backward in the animation.  Despite my best efforts, once the model is displayed the first time (at ANY time in the animation sequence) it deforms horribly.  Again, it displays the desired frame CORRECTLY.  It is only after that point that the model distorts depending on the animation frame sequence.