2d Physics

I’m working on a small game as a learning experience for jME (previously used xith3d) and had a question about collision detection. The game is top down 2d (think pong) but I’m using jME so I can later add neat effects (maybe with the partcle engine) Anyway, all collision detection will only have to be done in 2 dimensions. As of right now I see three ways to handle collision detection.

1. Roll my own

2. Use the jME built in physics

3. use ODE

I’d like to avoid coding it myself if at all possible so does the jME collision detection handle 2d collision detection fast or will it just do the same thing as with 3d collision detection. Also, does ode handle 2d collision fast or does it just do 3d collision detection. Of course I’m no expert but it seems to me that you can really simplify a lot if you only need to check for collisions in 2 dimensions and I don’t want to use jME or ODE to do that if there isn’t a way to have them ignore the third dimension.

Thanks in advance for any advice!

~Shochu

ODE will handle collision detection and collision results (i.e. the physics of the ball bouncing off the paddle). jME collision will handle the collision just fine, but you’ll have to handle velocity changes and such.

You have enough tools that you are not going to need to roll your own, the question then remains, do you want to try to create a realistic (ODE) pong game, or a traditional pong game?

If you want to see a copy of pong in jme look at jmetest.sound.PongRevisited (The name may be incorrect but it is similar)