3D Models

Is there any need in the contribution area in terms of 3D Mesh models?

I would like to help out in some way if possible, I’m a 3D modeling hobbyist, and part time learn / tutorial with 3D engines in my spare time. And so far jME3 has been the best experience yet, and i would like to contribute anyway I could.

Thanks

• Joe

Hi Joe!

We definitely need good material to use in demos and promotion material. Render-ready models (<100k vertexes) with color/normal/specular maps are very welcome. Although we are also working on a game that will basically copy BattleZone II and still need a complete set of models for that I dont want to throw such a big task at you like this ^^ I think a nice renderable scene of any type would already be a big contribution! We would of course mention you in big letters :slight_smile:

Cheers,

Normen

Sounds good :slight_smile:

I need motivation to get pointed in the right direction. I’m a Lightwave Hobbyist, And can export via Ogre. So if there is something specific I could work on, this would be even better. Better to have a goal for an idea then just a shot in the dark so to speak :slight_smile:

Since we’re in dire need for promo shots atm. maybe something that can fill a screen, a model with a black background is always a bit… you know :slight_smile: How about a devastated postnuclear corner of a city? Like a crossway with broken houses around. Or something more closed, like a small church altar. Somehow the gaming aspect should be there :slight_smile:

Cheers,

Normen

Yeah something scene-ish would be cool. If you can also add normal/specular maps to that it would be great :smiley:

You can also have a go at a hover-tank, I wasn’t able to find any when I looked online …

In preparing for an allover improved contributor’s handbook, I started this draft on google docs for 3D artists:

https://docs.google.com/document/edit?id=1dJP9GWFjaLe24DmAZoi4phWRPQk_XR3ldqysxMNBrjY&authkey=COudndgN&hl=en#