Adding user interaction (hand gestures)

Hello all, I’m a computer scientist/former computer game enthusiast, i recently stumbled across jMonkeyEngine and have been slowly working through the examples trying to get a good comprehension of how it all fits together…seems that there are several different features that jMonkeyEngine incorporates (openGL, bullet physics, ogre, etc). anyhow, firstly i’d like to thank all the people who put work into the project, and whoever made the tutorials, they’re some of the best tutorials i’ve seen for any application, great explanations and full source code examples that you can just copy/paste and have working in seconds, so thanks for that.

now on to my question - one of my favorite games as a kid was dungeon keeper, i liked it mainly for its play style - for those who don’t know, it was more of a “management type game” where you don’t really micromanage your minions, but rather, nudge them in the right direction with slaps and picking them up/dropping them into the battle, etc…then the creature’s ai would usually take care of the rest. the game is pretty much dead these days (came out in like 1995), but i’d like to revive/reimplement it i jmonkey, only with an added twist. in the original game, all actions were implemented with a mouse and keyboard, obviously. if you wanted to pick up a creature, you left clicked on it. if you wanted to slap it to make it work faster, you right clicked. what i want to do is take in data from a webcam about a user’s hand position, and feed that information directly into my game - so instead of using mouse clicks, i want to directly use the user’s body movements, hands in particular, so you’ll be able to slap your creatures with your hand gestures, and pick them up with pinches, etc, instead of using the mouse.