AppState: best practises?

Hi there,

I’m a total noob using JME3+Lemur implementing some spare time project. (Typical 1st-person space flight stuff). I just implemented a few AbstractAppState-based states and I wondered:

1. why some com.jme3.app.state.*State-implementations do not detach their nodes/scenes in their cleanup-implementation (like e.g. ChaseCameraAppState), and also re-attach them in their initialize() over and over again: maybe they are relying to some side-effect of re-attaching I don’t yet know?
  2. there are quite a lot of AppState-implementations out there which use some “if (someMember == null) { /* initMember */ }”-orgy in their initialize-implementation, which seem a bit odd to me. Before re-inventing the wheel: are there any “lifecycle-extensions” made to AbstractAppState a noob could use in order to have “setUpOnce()” (invoked by render thread) and “tearDownOnce()” (invoked in render thread) in order to not create such initMember-orgies?

What is considered convention / best practise regarding 1+2 by the community?

Thanks for helping me understanding!

Regarding 1:
It might be that it’s simply easier to leave that stuff out. Those AppStates might be designed to only be removed upon application stop. MANY people just skip their cleanup. It’s a habit which the GC trains you :stuck_out_tongue:

Regarding 2:
That’s the only really reliable way to be on the mainthread, in update().
Things like setEnabled shouldn’t but could be called from outside the main thread.
stateAttached should be fine, though.

Also this might be in order to re-use those variables when the state is re-attached (imagine detaching, attaching, d, a, d, a…): If you would create everything in stateAttached, you would always recreate it.

If you have some more practical examples someone might help you even better.

1 Like