Are there any examples of JME using Vulkan?

I am very interested in the new Vulkan API and was wondering if anyone can either point me to a demo or a game that they’ve themselves built which using Vulkan for rendering?

JME does not support Vulkan currently.

At the moment I think Oreon Engine is the only one for Java !

I wish the developer had put his effort on JME instead of creating yet another game engine.

2 Likes

On the other hand, I feel like a vulcan version of JME is pretty much a rewrite anyway… so…

1 Like

I’m no expert in either the deep internals of jME nor in Vulkan, but I’ve been putting some thought into this and I’m not sure it’s quite so bad. The scene graph and controls can certainly all be used - much of the power of the engine comes from those, and those are renderer agnostic. I think the same class hierarchy for the rendering API (renderer, textures, material, etc) could also be sensibly reused. Granted, you’re not going to get the best of Vulkan’s multithreading abilities like that, but you could at least get a Vulkan-powered renderer up and running. I’d guess a Vulkan specific render manager could do a whole lot for bridging the remaining gap between jME and canonical Vulkan architecture.

…sort of. The relationship between Material, Mesh, and Geometry as implemented in JME3 starts to get really OpenGL specific really fast.

And I think most of the breaking changes would be there or related to that. Then the question is whether or not it’s worth keeping the existing scene graph around “as is” or, since all apps will break anyway, fixing a lot of the legacy design issues in the process. (I mean, think of all of the things that break if we change Mesh or VertexBuffer at all… text, animation, blue cubes, etc.) (And believe me, I’d love to fix some things even in the OpenGL implementation of VertextBuffers… custom types anyone?)