Basic on sphere

Hello I am new in 3D and jmonkey so maybe my question will look stupid …

I want to be able to create a sphere and from this sphere loop through each vertex of the sphere and update vertex that I will modifiy. (it is not all, it just some that I will pick up randomly)

I did something like this :

[java]Mesh sphereMesh = new Sphere(32, 32, 500, false, false);

Triangle tri = new Triangle();

sphereMesh.getTriangle(i, tri); // where i is a random indice of triangle.

Vector3f vertex = tri.get1(); // I get one on 3 points of the triangle … let’s say point 1[/java]

first : this is correct? Is it one vertex of the sphere?

Second: And then if I want to modify it and put it back in the sphere, for example I change coordinates of the vertex, how I can make it update in the sphere?

I saw this line

[java]sphereMesh.setDynamic();[/java]

Please some one can help me on this?

Thanks and I start to really like to play with Jmonkey !! Great job !

https://wiki.jmonkeyengine.org/legacy/doku.php/jme3:advanced:custom_meshes

Thanks for the fast reply. :slight_smile:

So it means that Sphere (and the other shapes provided by default) cannot be used for little more complex case and I have to create my own Mesh?

Because I do not understand why I cannot use directly this Sphere Class as Sphere extends from Mesh.

sorry I think I reply too quick:

[java]m.setBuffer(Type.Position, 3, BufferUtils.createFloatBuffer(vertices));

m.setBuffer(Type.TexCoord, 2, BufferUtils.createFloatBuffer(texCoord));

m.setBuffer(Type.Index, 1, BufferUtils.createIntBuffer(indexes));

m.updateBound();[/java]

I suppose that I can use it by using direclty the method :

[java]sphereMesh.getBuffer(Type.Position) [/java]

After you modify the VertexBuffer, you have to call setRefreshNeeded() to force it to update

Hi MF,

I did not call this method, and it woks as expected. (vertices have been updated) … probably because I am doing only it once at the initialization of the sphere.