Best Practice: which tools and practice for level design?

Hi,

I’m new to jmonkeyengine (~ 1 month), I would like to know what is your partices for level design with jmonkeyengine ?

• Do you use Scene visual tools (SceneComposer + Scene Explorer + Properties Panel) to create scene or only to view ?
  • Do you use j3o to store scene and use userData + Control for game data, or use a side files ?
  • Where do you define Physics’s properties, via code (AppState) ???
  • What is your process, advices ?

My history begind the question (can be skip) :

Currently, I’m porting a game prototype (you can ask why). The prototype was a webgl+dart ( http://vdrones.appspot.com/ ).
For the prototype I used a Entity-Component-System. Levels are defined in a json OR in a svg file created from inkscape + some xml attribute.
From the level definition, a factory create Entities+Components.
When I start with jME, I used Zay-ES and I began to convert. Later, I saw video about SDK’s SceneComposer & C°. I though “Hey, Control+UserData+AppState can match my needs, and I will be able to make quicker / friendler level with Scene’s visual tools”.
But the scene visual tools are far from my image, I didn’t expect Unity or UDK. But a place where I can place Spatial attach Control, set dimension of spatial, physics body, trigger area (GhostControl) , …
I had some issues, and interrogation. I submit questions and path (via PR), thanks to @normen for help. But after discussion with him, may be I’m in the wrong way (how to use tools, Control, AppState). So my question.

The last discussion with @normen was about a patch to read broken j3o (due to missing Control class)

Well, my opinion is that the entity system is still a strong candidate. (I am biased since I wrote Zay-ES and I’m a big fan of ES.) You already have gotten past the learning curve and that’s the biggest negative of an ES.