Best way to do 2d graphics for a beginner

Hi

My background is in Processing, which is very easy to use for 2d drawing of squares and circles etc.

I want to do this in JME3 - what is the best way to go about this for a beginner,

Thanks,

Glenn.

1 Like

jME3 is best suited for high definition 3D graphics, not drawing squares and circles. It doesn’t mean it is not possible, its just has to be done manually. For square you can use the Quad mesh, but to draw a circle you’ll have to generate the mesh yourself.

You can also just use processing and then get the data as an image, and draw it with jME3 that way.

1 Like

Thanks, I want to mix 3d graphics with 2d graphics, for overlaying HUD elements etc, and also just generally want to able to draw 2d lines and shapes etc. I don’t know where to start, what libraries to use, how to even create a screen to draw into, do I have to set up screen buffers etc. I’ve looked around and seen mention of canvases, java2d and other things, but I’m just confused as a noob about getting the basics.

1 Like

Start by going through the tutorials, after you know what jME can do and how it does it it might be easier.

1 Like

I have gone through all the tutorials, but they are all 3d based, couldn’t find anything jme3 & 2d graphics related though. Is it java2d I should be using?

1 Like

Not “look at all the tutorials and search for your keyword” but “go through them and learn jme”…

You could use Java2d to paint and then copy over the data to some texture, kind of the reverse thing the TestRenderToMemory.java test does.

1 Like

I’m also having trouble with 2D graphics. JMonkey is a great 3D IDE, but the absence of a user friendly 2D interface is annoying. Designing an instrument panel for a Flight Simulator turns into a nightmare.

Any chance of a better 2D interface anytime soon ?

1 Like

Take a look at Lemur by @pspeed

1 Like

Take a look at Lemur by @pspeed

1 Like