Blender indoors area modelling backface issue

Hi

I’m creating levels of retro-style first-person rpg in Blender. I’ve built outdoors area (houses, castle, mountains, river) with relative ease (with a lot of googling, of course). But now I’m stuck with indoors area (some sort of dungeon).

I’m a novice in 3D modeling, so maybe I’m wrong in very basic things. Please feel free to correct me.

1. It’s obvious that dungeon is large 3D model with normals pointed to the inside. So I just flipped normals of starting cube before starting transform it to the level by extrude-scale-move.
  2. Most of time I’d like to watch on the level from outside, so to be able to see it well I checked “Backface Culling” for the material of cube (I use large tileset, so there is only one material for the almost whole area).
  3. All looks good, but… I cannot select inner faces, because blender think I want to select outer (culled) faces. It feels tricky to create are without possibility to select inner faces from outside the level bounds…

What am I doing wrong?

Please share your experience, how to make such things better?

PS: Blender 2.8
PS2: Issue is only in Blender. I haven’t even tried it in JME (but pretty sure it will be ok, because JME renders only front faces by default)

Turn off face culling.

Ideally though, you’d only want to do this in spectator mode.

material.getAdditionalRenderstate.setCullMode(Off);

thanks for a link. this article helps to hide backfaces - that’s great. But unfortunately, it doesn’t help to ignore these culled backfaces when you select faces in edit mode.

Just found a way. It’s better than nothing, but still very tricky to use.

In Wireframe Mode blender selects face by the proximity of mouse pointer to the center of face (shown as dot) instead of nearest to the camera.

I do not believe that there is no more convenient way. Any ideas or hints are still welcome!