Blur of texture viewed in flat angle

Hi, I have a problem with my textures on a street. “DriverSeat”-Camera blurs the road marking very strong after a certain distance and I do not know what to do about it. Seems that the angle of view on the texture is an important factor. Anyone any ideas what this could be? I am pretty new to jMonkey, so this might as well be a common problem, hopefully easy to solve :slight_smile:

Thanks a lot!

You can try messing with:
http://hub.jmonkeyengine.org/javadoc/com/jme3/texture/Texture.html#setAnisotropicFilter(int)

GL11.glBindTexture(GL11.GL_TEXTURE_2D, t.getImage().getId());
GL11.glTexParameterf(GL11.GL_TEXTURE_2D,
GL12.GL_TEXTURE_MAX_LOD, 4f);
GL12.GL_TEXTURE_MIN_LOD, 0f);
GL11.glTexParameteri(GL11.GL_TEXTURE_2D,
GL12.GL_TEXTURE_MAX_LEVEL, 4);
GL12.GL_TEXTURE_BASE_LEVEL, 0);

@paulhoepner said: Thanks: This did it: GL11.glBindTexture(GL11.GL_TEXTURE_2D, t.getImage().getId()); GL11.glTexParameterf(GL11.GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL12.GL_TEXTURE_MAX_LOD, 4f); GL11.glTexParameterf(GL11.GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL12.GL_TEXTURE_MIN_LOD, 0f); GL11.glTexParameteri(GL11.GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL12.GL_TEXTURE_MAX_LEVEL, 4); GL11.glTexParameteri(GL11.GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL12.GL_TEXTURE_BASE_LEVEL, 0);

Can I trouble you to post a followup pic after the fix? Just interested in seeing the results (if it’s not a huge bother)

This is after the fix

1 Like

Thanks! =)

@paulhoepner said: Thanks: This did it: GL11.glBindTexture(GL11.GL_TEXTURE_2D, t.getImage().getId()); GL11.glTexParameterf(GL11.GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL12.GL_TEXTURE_MAX_LOD, 4f); GL11.glTexParameterf(GL11.GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL12.GL_TEXTURE_MIN_LOD, 0f); GL11.glTexParameteri(GL11.GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL12.GL_TEXTURE_MAX_LEVEL, 4); GL11.glTexParameteri(GL11.GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL12.GL_TEXTURE_BASE_LEVEL, 0);

This is how not to do it.

ok, sorry! It worked for me, but if its a wrong approach, please let me know how to do it better …