Bump mapping vs Fragment/Vertex programs

Hi,

I've tried searching for this topic but haven't been successful. I'm new to jME and am trying to understand some of the graphical effects that can be done using this engine. In particular, I'm trying to determine the differences (pros and cons) between using a bump mapping approach, as in the TestBumpMapping demo class, and a custom fragment/vertex program, as in the TestFragmentProgramState demo class. Why would one be used over the other and under which circumstances? They appear to have the same visual effect to me  :?

what's done in testbumpmapping is simple dot3 bumpmapping which is about as good as you can do with the fixed function pipeline. with shaders you are free to implement whatever bumpmapping technique you wish, normalmapping, parallax, relief etc etc

Ok, I think I understand a little more now. So essentially, you can implement dot3 (normal) bump mapping either by using a fragment/vertex shader or by using the Texture.ACF_DOT3_RGB combine mode on your normal map texture? Does the TestFragmentProgramState demo class demonstrate dot3 bump mapping with the fragment/vertex shaders or is it some other form of bump mapping?

yeah that's correct, you can implement that in shaders too. what's good about using fixed pipeline is that the stuff works on older cards…

the technique in testfragmentprogramstate is called parallax mapping

Mr.Coder thanks so much for the helpful insight  :slight_smile:

What other "fixed pipeline" techniques can be used in jME? Is there some kind of a rule that determines whether a techniques is fixed pipeline or not?

Also, is there more than one way to implement, for instance, "parallax" bump mapping? I would imagine there could be a code repository of the best implementations for parallax, displacement, relief texture, etc. bump mapping, could there not? Or is the implementation of these shaders really dependent on the game's requirements?